Wordpress or HTML5 for a small company website ?

On or off topic discussions. Whatever is on you mind...
yendis
FIMS Contributor

Wordpress or HTML5 for a small company website ?

Post by yendis »

Hi,

My boss recently asked me to takeover maintenance and update of our company website. :?
This is a small company with less than 10 people

My knowledge of HTML is very basic & still "stuck" in the Netscape era

I am thinking whether I am better off learning HTML5+CSS or just learning something new/different for the task --> Wordpress ??

Reason why I think of Wordpress is I dislike coding, I rather prefer layout/designing look of webpage...

Any suggestions or comments welcome !!

cheers
yendis
tinyspider
Guitar Hero

Re: Wordpress or HTML5 for a small company website ?

Post by tinyspider »

I'm a WordPress developer, so I'm obviously pretty biased. But a CMS platform such as joomla or wordpress will definitely help you deliver a complex website very fast while fulfilling your company requirements pretty easily. You can use a variety of free and paid plugins and themes to extend the functionality of the site. I've done from e-shops to complex sites with e-learning tools and role based resource management. If you wanna start working with wordpress as a developer I suggest picking up this book (remember to make you boss pay for it :wink: ). PM if you have more questions.
HypnoGold
Producer Extraordinaire

Post by HypnoGold »

Kirby is fantastic.

http://getkirby.com
DarkNS
50+ FIMS Regular

Post by DarkNS »

Get Drupal, Joomla or another CMS like that, get a nice Template for it, customize and you'll have a more than acceptable corporate website.
harker
25+ Not a Newbie Anymore

Post by harker »

DarkNS wrote:Get Drupal, Joomla or another CMS like that, get a nice Template for it, customize and you'll have a more than acceptable corporate website.